viennacontemporary

My Highlights in Vienna 2017

A well-balanced presentation of established artists in an easygoing-upscale location, the unique focus on Eastern European galleries, Vienna as a surprisingly relevant location and top-notch artworks ranging from fresh discoveries to international big names ... in short: viennacontemporary 2017!

Date07. November 2017 /

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

Ambiance

The Marx Halle provides an imposing backdrop and embeds all of the happenings in a setting I would describe as elegant and informal. While proceeding through the spacious foyer I gradually enter an entirely different world – without losing an awareness of my surroundings, as I can see in the profiles of the visitors: Along with the classic art fair visitors, I notice the many young people, also families. This is exceptional for an art fair of international repute, by comparison to other prestigious locations.

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
Best floral decoration at a fair so far 😉

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

Facts

viennacontemporary has been taking place once a year at the end of September since 2012. In 2017, in the 6th year of this event, 112 galleries from 27 countries were present – approximately one-third of them from Eastern Europe, which also lends the fair its special character. In 2016 about 28,000 visitors were counted. The Artistic Director of the fair is Christina Steinbrecher-Pfandt, who grew up in Cologne and has built up a solid international network through her work experience in London, Moscow and links to the Palais de Tokyo in Paris.

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
Christian Eisenberger with reduced color and maximum textural effects at the renowned Galerie Krinzinger from Vienna – I find the smaller portrait-like canvases have turned out especially well. They could be interpreted as humorous or even creepy, because stylistically they resemble an identikit picture, yet hide the most important features.

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
KOW Berlin with a bizarre tower of loudspeakers in concrete look

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
One of my favorites: Enrico Bach, represented at the PIFO Gallery from Peking

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

My favorite artists at the fair:

  1. Xenia Hausner
  2. Henk Stallinga
  3. Enrico Bach
  4. Benjamin Appel
  5. Thomas Arnolds

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
The award for the best cool breeze goes to the legendary Henk Stallinga with “Fanscreen” at Gerhard Hofland

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
Unusual for Marina Abramovic: a photographic image as an artwork. She imitates Edvard Munch‘s “The Scream” and thus brings it into an entirely new context: In the 21st century it is a woman screaming, her face marked more with resolve than terror. But this corresponds to her as a person as well.

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
Political art at Eastwards Prospectus from Bucharest with the artist Pavel Brăila: “I think an artist today […] lives his/her life absorbing a lot of different influences – art, science, music, politics, household chores. Life itself becomes the main artistic project.”

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
MAM Mario Mauroner playing with an astonishing variety of textures

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog   viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
Thomas Arnolds with LUFT 3 has, for me, many influences from Post Internet Art.

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog
The award-winning SEXAUER Gallery from Berlin

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

 The most outstanding stands for me are

  1. Lisa Kandlhofer, Vienna
  2. Gerhard Hofland, Netherlands
  3. Eastwards Prospectus, Bucharest
  4. PIFO Gallery, Bejing

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blogviennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog  viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

Vienna as an art location & art fair – Résumé

In my opinion, Vienna is underestimated in an international comparison of art venues especially referring to Berlin, for example – the geographical location in conjunction with the CEE focus of the exhibited art at viennacontemporary is a promising niche; the Austrian government is very interested in promoting the creative economy with powerful programs, such as “curated by vienna”, and also in generally improving networking with international curators. Artists are represented across a wide spectrum ranging from aspiring to established (Synonym: Gerhard Richter) and I find the ambiance between upscale and easygoing just right. The gallery owners were very open and helpful, which I am not accustomed to at every fair … viennacontemporary was a fab art fair!

Photos & Text: Eva Karl. Reproduction or publication of the article – even in sections – allowed only after written agreement.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Find me on

viennacontemporary 2017

Meine Highlights in Wien 2017

viennacontemporary 2017 · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

Eine ausgewogene Präsentation von etablierten Künstlern in einer lässig-edlen Location, die einzigartige Fokussierung auf Galerien aus Osteuropa, Wien als überraschend relevanter Standort und spitzenmäßige Kunstwerke von Neuentdeckungen bis zu den internationalen Größen ... kurz: viennacontemporary 2017!

Datum18. Oktober 2017 / Ort Wien / Fotos 45

Ambiente

Die Marx Halle bietet eine imposante Kulisse und bettet das gesamte Geschehen der viennacontemporary 2017 in eine Umgebung, die ich als elegant und ungezwungen bezeichnen würde. Beim Gang durch das großzügige Foyer betrete ich Schritt für Schritt eine ganz eigene Welt – ohne dabei die Bodenhaftung zu verlieren, wie ich am Profil der Besucher merke: Neben den klassischen Messebesuchern fallen mir viele junge Menschen auf, auch Familien. Für eine Messe von internationaler Bedeutung ist das im Blick auf andere renommierte Standorte außergewöhnlich.


Bester Blumenschmuck einer Messe bisher 😉

Fakten

Seit 2012 findet die viennacontemporary jährlich Ende September statt. In der 6. Ausgabe 2017 waren 112 Galerien aus 27 Ländern dabei – etwa ein Drittel davon aus Osteuropa, was auch die Besonderheit der Messe darstellt. 2016 wurden etwa 28.000 Besucher verzeichnet. Artistic Director der Messe ist Christina Steinbrecher-Pfandt, die in Köln aufgewachsen ist und mit ihrer Erfahrung in London, Moskau und Verbindungen zum Palais de Tokyo in Paris ein solides internationales Netzwerk aufgebaut hat.


Christian Eisenberger mit reduzierter Farbigkeit mit maximaler Texturalität bei der renommierten Galerie Krinzinger aus Wien – die portraitartigen kleineren Leinwände finde ich ganz besonders gelungen. Sie könnten mit Humor bzw. mit einem gewissen Gruseln zu deuten sein, da sie in ihrer Aufmachung einem Phantombild ähnlich sind, jedoch genau die wichtigsten Teile verbergen.


KOW Berlin u.a. mit einem bizarren Turm aus Lautsprechern in Betonoptik


Einer meiner Favoriten: Enrico Bach, vertreten von der PIFO Gallery aus Peking

Meine Lieblings-Künstler der Messe:

  1. Xenia Hausner
  2. Henk Stallinga
  3. Enrico Bach
  4. Benjamin Appel
  5. Thomas Arnolds


Der Award für die beste kühle Brise geht an den legendären Henk Stallinga mit „Fanscreen“ bei Gerhard Hofland


Ungewöhnlich für Marina Abramovic: ein Bild als Kunstwerk. Sie ahmt darin Edvard Munchs „Der Schrei“ nach und bringt ihn damit in einen ganz neuen Zusammenhang: Im 21. Jahrhundert ist es eine Frau, mehr mit Entschlossenheit im Gesicht als von Schrecken gezeichnet. Entspricht aber ihr als Person.


Politische Kunst bei Eastwards Prospectus aus Bukarest mit Künstler Pavel Brăila: „I think an artist today […] lives his/her life absorbing a lot of different influences – art, science, music, politics, household chores. Life itself becomes the main artistic project.“ („Ich denke, heutzutage lebt ein Künstler sein Leben unter vielen verschiedenen Einflüssen – Kunst, Wissenschaft, Musik, Politik, häuslichen Pflichten. Das Leben an sich wird zum primären künstlerischen Projekt.“


MAM Mario Mauroner und erstaunlich viel Spiel mit verschiedenen Texturen

   
Thomas Arnolds mit LUFT 3 hat für mich viele Einflüsse von Post-Internet-Art.


Die preisgekrönte SEXAUER Gallery aus Berlin

  

Die für mich herausragendsten Stände:

  1. Lisa Kandlhofer, Wien
  2. Gerhard Hofland, Niederlande
  3. Eastwards Prospectus, Bukarest
  4. PIFO Gallery, Peking

  

Wien als Kunststandort & Messe-Resumee

Wien wird meiner Meinung nach im internationalen Vergleich an Kunststandorten noch gegenüber bspw. Berlin unterschätzt – die geografische Lage in Verbindung mit dem CEE-Fokus der ausgestellten Kunst auf der viennacontemporary ist eine zukunftsträchtige Nische, die österreichische Regierung ist sehr daran interessiert, die Kreativwirtschaft mit mächtigen Programmen wie curated by_vienna zu fördern und mit internationalen Kuratoren auch die Vernetzung generell zu verbessern. Künstler sind in einer starken Bandbreite von aufstrebend bis etabliert (Synonym: Gerhard Richter 😉 vertreten und das Ambiente finde genau richtig zwischen edel und lässig. Auch die Galeristen waren sehr aufgeschlossen und hilfreich, was ich nicht von jeder Messe gewohnt bin … Tolle Messe!

Fotos & Text: Eva Karl. Vervielfältigung oder Veröffentlichung des Artikels – auch in Teilen – nur nach schriftlicher Absprache erlaubt.

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Folge mir auf