Sebastian Herzau

Between Batman and Other Allies

Drying oil paintings, including neon-colored Batman masks and landscapes, are my first impressions on entering Sebastian Herzau’s studio in Halle. Paint, paint, paint, in between organize art fairs and go to fairs to network – all that and his own family keep Sebastian’s stress at a moderate level.

Date14. June 2017 /

1. Are you permanently thinking while you paint or is it more spontaneous?
Both. I have to think first because I can’t suddenly decide while painting that I would like to use a horizontal format after all. Everything else comes spontaneously, guided by chance and the question: “What are you going to turn it into now?” The lines and the overriding structure give the portrait depth. And that’s what it’s all about.

2. Portraits/faces have been an interest of yours since your studies, right? At what point did it become obvious to you that you could make a series out of them?
My original aim was the allure of trying out something new.

I’ve always been interested in the indistinct.

3. The exciting aspect of your series “The Great Below” is the veil over the faces – what does it express?
Actually, it expresses a lot – you don’t have to say too much about it. For one, it is unapproachable, for another, I bring out more details. I generally like duller color shades – they carry through the veil, which is not tangible. Even when you look at the artwork for half an hour and try to remember it afterward, you’re above all rewarded with a feeling, but not a distinct visual memory.

The emotional expression lingers in the memory, but not necessarily the painting itself.

The veil is there anyway and changes everything, but nonetheless, it is invisible. My feeling is that I can remember the faces in your paintings somewhat, but know at the same time: There was more. What do you think might be the effect of a portrait without this veil?
I can show you in this picture when I photographed an intermediate stage: The magic is missing for me. I have to keep working on it to show more than the realistic representation.

4. Do you find that painting should represent or change reality?
I like to play with the memories – is it a man or a woman? Is he/she sad or in a good mood? I can only contribute a small amount towards clarifying these questions; I don’t want to dictate anything. That would be too much for me. Through this blurriness, which is quite subtle, whereas the face beneath it is painted quite sharply, a moment arises between the moment.

Reality is what you make of it when you talk about it.

While I am painting a portrait, I experience my own story about the model, because I know all of the intermediate steps. I thus know much more than someone from outside. Altogether I alternate between different cycles of topics, i.e. from the landscapes to “The Great Below” to the Batman masks.

5. Would you call yourself a perfectionist?
My paintings mustn’t be too perfect – but a few things must be good: The right shade of color must sit in the right spot. It is important to keep at it and paint. And do that every day.

6. What effect do colors have for you – to illustrate and depict or to be symbolic?

The best shades of color are those that arise incidentally during the mixing process.

Naturally, I know how to place them properly, but I don’t add much symbolic effect. This light-blue background consists, for example, of numerous glazed layers, to produce exactly this color effect.

7. Can you recognize a (technical) difference between people who have studied painting and those who have come to painting via a different path?
Here it is not so much the technique because even students can’t necessarily paint. Many are simply too lazy. Learning to paint is simply a long process. When artists stand next to their work and can talk about it for a long time, then they have usually studied the subject (laughs). In your course of studies, you can freely try out different areas and exchange ideas with professors and colleagues.

Nobody teaches you to paint; you have to do it yourself.

It is a craft you learn through practice. It is also like an addiction – I also try to notice as much as possible. In all events, it must be authentic. What I can’t do myself I find particularly good. I react to things that move me. I have to talk about that. The time spent in the studio is important. You can also sit there for eight hours; the main thing is that you are there. You need your own drive and diligence. I have enormous respect for colleagues who really get something done!

8. Have you had a lot of criticism?
I have had good criticism from the right people. I have also quickly noticed that earlier some people knew more about my art and development than I did myself – where my art was still going.

9. Have you got an interesting anecdote about your artworks?
I remember a woman at an art fair who stood for two hours in front of an artwork of mine and she simply could not turn away from it, all the while her husband was looking everywhere for her. In the meantime, the painting is hanging in their house.

Translation: Karen Christenson

Many thanks for your time and for sharing with us how you see the creative process!

Follow Sebastian on Facebook and find more works from him on his Website. Instagram also has a great deal to offer!

 

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Find me on

Sebastian Herzau

Zwischen Batman und weiteren Verbündeten

Trocknende Ölbilder, darunter neonfarbige Batman-Masken und Landschaften prägen meinen ersten Eindruck in Sebastian Herzaus Atelier in Halle. Malen, malen, malen, zwischendurch Kunstmessen organisieren und selbst auf Messen netzwerken – all das und die eigene Familie halten Sebastians Stresslevel auf einem moderaten Maß.

Datum14. Juni 2017 / Ort Halle (Saale) / Fotos 17

1. Bist du permanent am Denken, während du malst oder passiert das eher spontan?
Beides. Ich muss vorher denken, weil ich nicht während des Malens plötzlich beschließen kann, dass ich doch ein Querformat malen will. Alles andere kommt spontan, vom Zufall und der Frage geleitet: „Was machst du da jetzt draus?“ Die Linien und die Struktur darüber geben dem Portrait Tiefe. Und um die geht es mir.

2. Mit dem Thema Portraits/Gesichter beschäftigst du dich bereits seit Studium, richtig? Zu welchem Zeitpunkt wurde dir klar, dass du daraus eine Serie machen könntest?
Mein ursprüngliches Bestreben war der Reiz, etwas Neues auszuprobieren.

Für Unschärfe habe ich mich schon immer interessiert.

3. Das Spannende an deiner Serie „The Great Below“ ist dieser Schleier über den Gesichtern – was drückt er aus?
Eigentlich drückt er ganz viel aus – man muss gar nicht so viel dazu sagen. Zum einen ist es das Unnahbare, zum anderen hole ich mehr hervor. Ich mag generell mattere Farbtöne – die werden durch den Schleier transportiert, der nicht greifbar ist. Selbst wenn du eine halbe Stunde lang das Bild ansiehst und danach versuchst, dich daran zu erinnern, kommt vor allem ein Gefühl hoch, keine visuelle Erinnerung.

Der emotionale Ausdruck bleibt im Gedächtnis, nicht unbedingt das Bild an sich.

Der Schleier ist also da und verändert alles, aber ist dabei trotzdem unsichtbar. Mir geht es so, dass ich mich schon ungefähr an die Gesichter in deinen Bildern erinnern kann, aber gleichzeitig weiß: Da war noch mehr. Wie schätzt du die Wirkung eines Portraits ohne diesen Schleier ein?
Ich kann dir das an diesem Bild zeigen, als ich einen Zwischenschritt fotografiert habe. Mir fehlt da noch die Magie. Ich muss daran weiterarbeiten, um mehr zu zeigen als nur die realistische Darstellung.

4. Findest du, dass Malerei die Wirklichkeit darstellen oder verändern sollte?
Ich spiele gerne mit den Erinnerungen – ist es ein Mann oder eine Frau? Ist er/sie traurig oder gut drauf? Ich kann nur ein Stück zur Klärung dieser Fragen beitragen, schreibe dabei jedoch nichts vor. Das wäre mir zuviel. Durch diese Unschärfe, die ganz subtil da ist, während das Gesicht darunter ganz scharf gemalt ist, entsteht ein Moment zwischen dem Moment.

Wirklichkeit ist das, was man daraus macht, wenn man darüber redet.

Während ich ein Portrait male, erlebe ich eine eigene Geschichte zum Modell, weil ich die ganzen Zwischenschritte kenne. Ich weiß dadurch viel mehr als jemand von außen. Insgesamt wechsle ich zwischen verschiedenen Themenzyklen, d.h. von den Landschaften zu „The Great Below“ bis hin zu den Batman-Masken.

5. Würdest du dich als Perfektionist bezeichnen?
Meine Bilder dürfen nicht zu perfekt sein – aber ein paar Sachen müssen gut sein: Der richtige Farbton muss an den richtigen Fleck. Wichtig ist, dranzubleiben und zu malen. Und das jeden Tag.

6. Welche Wirkung haben Farben für dich – darstellend oder symbolisch?

Die besten Farbtöne sind die, die nebenbei beim Mischen entstehen.

Ich weiß natürlich, sie richtig einzusetzen, aber ich lege nicht so viel symbolische Wirkung hinein. Dieser hellblaue Hintergrund besteht z.B. aus zahlreichen lasierenden Schichten, um genau diese Farbwirkung zu erzeugen.

7. Kannst du einen (technischen) Unterschied zwischen Leuten erkennen, die Malerei studiert haben und Quereinsteigern?
Dabei geht es nicht so sehr um die Technik, weil auch Studierte nicht unbedingt malen können. Viele sind dafür einfach zu faul. Es ist einfach ein langer Prozess, malen zu lernen. Wenn Künstler neben ihrer Arbeit stehen und lange darüber reden können, dann haben sie in den meisten Fällen studiert (lacht). Im Studium kannst du dich frei in verschiedenen Bereichen ausprobieren und dich mit Professoren und Kommilitonen darüber austauschen.

Das Malen bringt dir keiner bei, das musst du selbst machen.

Es ist ein Handwerk, das man erlernt, indem man es macht. Es ist auch wie eine Sucht – dabei versuche ich, mir ganz viel zu merken. Es muss auf jeden Fall authentisch sein. Was ich selbst nicht kann, finde ich besonders gut. Ich reagiere auf das, was mich bewegt. Das muss ich ansprechen. Wichtig ist die Zeit im Atelier. Man kann auch für acht Stunden dort sitzen, Hauptsache man ist dort. Man braucht einen eigenen Antrieb und Fleiß. Ich habe großen Respekt vor Kollegen, die wirklich was machen und wollen!

8. Musstest du viel Kritik ertragen?
Von den richtigen Leuten habe ich gute Kritik bekommen. Ich habe auch schnell gemerkt, dass früher manche mehr über meine Kunst und Entwicklung wussten als ich selbst – wo meine Kunst noch hingehen würde.

9. Erzähl mir von einem Erlebnis mit deinen Bildern.
Ich erinnere mich an eine Frau auf einer Messe, die für zwei Stunden vor einem Bild von mir stand und sich einfach nicht abwenden konnte, während ihr Mann sie überall gesucht hat. Mittlerweile hängt es bei ihnen zuhause.

Vielen Dank für deine Zeit und den Einblick in deinen kreativen Prozess!

Folge Sebastian auf Facebook und finde mehr Arbeiten von ihm auf seiner Website. Auf Instagram läuft natürlich auch einiges!

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Find me on