Kristian Jarmuschek

The Gallery of the Future

Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

He is an experienced gallery owner and since 2013 the President of the Federal Association of German Galleries and Fine Art Dealers (BVDG). I met Kristian Jarmuschek in his remarkable location in Berlin where we discussed current developments regarding art fairs, the question of locations for creative people & galleries in cities, the gallery of the future and much more besides.

Date11. September 2017 /

You were present at the ART COLOGNE press conference with Daniel Hug in April when he talked about “Colonialism” in relation to the expansion-driven approach being taken by the MCH Group/Art Basel. What do you think of this assessment?
In principle, the approach shown by the MCH Group has been known to us for years, after Miami and Hong Kong had been set up and a statement of intent had been made that investments would be made in regional art fairs in the future. The Rhineland is a region strongly supported by a stable, tradition-conscious culture of collecting art. This is why I can understand, from their economic perspective, that they would want to offer their customers and galleries a location in the immediate vicinity.

I wouldn’t describe setting up this fair in a neighboring location as an attack, but rather as a statement of intent.

Nonetheless, it remains a fact that ART COLOGNE takes place in the spring and ART DUS in the autumn. The first point to make is that I see nothing to object to, especially as the ART.FAIR was in existence beforehand. In addition, the MCH Group is named as a participating sponsor of the Fair, meaning that it is not first and foremost labeled as “Art Basel Düsseldorf”. Let’s concentrate on what is actually going to happen and how the new fair turns out in the autumn.

The creation of new events and the regionalization in the art market is clearly growing stronger wherever we look. In this context, it is manifestly an understandable development when the city of Düsseldorf, which has a strong art market, is given its own art fair. The idea of giving one’s own customers something new isn’t exactly revolutionary.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

How do you evaluate the effects of the new Art Berlin on POSITIONS, of which you are a director?
It is important for me that the Cologne Fair sees this as a long-term commitment and that it is fully aware of its responsibility to Berlin as an Art Fair location. 

The art forum berlin was a popular format in the art fair world. But at the end of the day, this format wasn’t able to satisfy the demands and interests of the participating galleries. At the time of the art forum the art scene was still characterized by what the city represented in the 1990s – that already sounds so terribly long ago, doesn’t it? (laughs)

Back then people went to both cities as a gesture of respect. It is still firmly established in the Berlin art scene that one goes to the opening of new exhibitions – in both cities – as a fixed social event:

At the heart of the art scene in Berlin was always the desire to see, to show and to be seen; it had less to do with the art market per se.

The question Art Berlin has to ask itself is: Will the fair manage to generate sufficient international attention (both in terms of content as well as financially) to make it worthwhile for participating galleries to come and exhibit? What Cologne can depend upon with ART COLOGNE is that the Rhineland and the Benelux countries are a strong support. There is a concentration of collectors as well as the interest in and a sense of tradition for the promotion of art, in addition to the purchases made by galleries. So far there has been little evidence of this in Berlin. Here many things are perceived as self-evident – for me, this presents a real challenge.

For POSITIONS this means first of all: It is fantastic that there is now a second art fair in Berlin. The organizers will certainly get together to delineate their main areas of interest. For the time being, I would simply say: I am curious and find it exciting if a well-established fair organizer such as the Koelnmesse wants to invest in the Berlin art market location.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

… in other words, this is to be seen as a compliment to Berlin (both laugh)! You have just made reference to the development in the last few years. How have the topics that land daily on your desk as President of the BVDG changed?
I can make out two trends: The one has to do with the global economic development, especially relating to financial markets – in brief, that would be events such as the Dotcom Bubble of 2000, Lehman Brothers in 2008 and the Financial Crisis of 2012 which spread over Europe and beyond. All of these have had consequences for the mental and, therefore, also the economic situation of art buyers. The feeling that money works on its own disappeared, that one invests money and overtime earnings are generated – something we were led to believe – unfortunately proved to be “fake” because, in reality, it was all about credit refinancing and not real investments, closely linked with property politics in the USA. 

In all events before the crisis in the financial markets, there was a curiosity about undiscovered young artists. If there was a city which in the last ten to twenty years was all behind the discovery of new artistic talent, then it was unquestionably Berlin. For example, one could run around the city center and hope: “I am going to discover the new shooting star”. This willingness led to many galleries living from the interest created by introducing young artists to the marketplace.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

In the meantime, the financial world had gambled away its chances and there were no more opportunities to invest money in traditional investment products. In other words, new possibilities are being sought for investment funds – there is a new option appearing for “brand-name artists”. The interest in Picassos, Monets, Richters, Koons, Polkes, Hirsts is growing, in other words in artists who – according to popular consensus – have managed to become a “brand-name”. Consensus, in this case, means supported by galleries and auction houses – the resale revenue of these artists’ works means, in other words, a certain fair value or even increase in value when the work is resold. That explains why, of course, “brand-name artists” are drawing the greatest interest at the present time. In contrast, against this background, it appears risky to invest in 15 graduates of the Berlin University of the Arts in order to bet on one of them one day possibly becoming a great name. No, today one decides in a certain métier for a Polke, a Richter, … There are artists who are successful as being secure investments with a globally perceived and accepted fair value via the resale market. 

The consequence is that galleries which place their bets on promoting young artists are actually limited in how they work and operate. From a purely economic viewpoint, it is wise to turn to artists who already have a certain market value and who belong to definite recognized artistic trends – as an example: the fair value of individual ZERO artists increased through their belonging to this movement.

This development is disadvantageous to the promotion of young artists …

… what I also see, when, partly at the political level, when last year the amendment to the Cultural Property Protection Act (KGSG) was being aggressively debated, it was suggested that the German art market is making profits that run into the millions, which is political ignorance, because the media often only report on sensational art purchases in London or New York. This is then falsely applied to Germany. This is not the case though, for in Germany (in actual fact) a great deal of preparatory work is done in galleries, however, less in the rate-of-return area. You can calculate for yourself how much profit a sale price of €1000 means to a gallery set against the costs of exhibiting the item.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

At the same time we are faced with a general societal phenomenon:

We have less and less time.

Although we are actually of the opinion that we should have a lot more time through modern networking and mobility, because we can use any spare time we have, such as waiting for an underground train to arrive, we still have the feeling that work is increasing in volume, not decreasing. The pressure exerted by modern communication is enormous and robs us of the time we could have used for something else.

At a symposium of the BVDG a few weeks ago in the House of Electronic Arts in Basel, I posed the provocative question: “Isn’t it wrong if I as a gallery owner do everything in my power to make visiting my gallery, which is what I want to promote, actually more superfluous? If I make my gallery available in cyberspace, so to speak, aren’t I doing, even more, to make people think that coming to the gallery is superfluous? In this way, the fundamental thinking behind a gallery is increasingly robbed of importance, namely to provide a space for the artist to exhibit his work, where he can develop his ideas further and can use his art to shape the exhibition area.

I myself still cannot picture a cyberspace gallery which could replace the immediate experience of an artwork in an exhibition.

And it is this direct experience of a piece of art that excites people and, in the last analysis, motivates them to purchase a work where speculation is not involved.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

… in other words what is partly missing is the courage or the necessary funds to make a purchase. How can galleries successfully launch themselves into the future – especially in the light of the above-mentioned developments which can spread uncertainty and unanswered questions?
I believe that in the future, too, it will be important for the gallery to stage good exhibitions, to have good exhibition areas, to take part in art fairs and to do all this on a sound financial footing. Here in these former Tagesspiegel premises, we find ourselves in the Potsdamer Straße, in a forgotten corner, so to speak, of the pre-Unification period, in an area on the periphery with all the phenomena one would expect. It is only now possible, 28 years after Unification, to be here in the heart of Berlin and, despite this, in a position to find the new creative geniuses. The less important question, in my opinion, is: How should creative artists and galleries proceed from here?

It is far more important to focus politically on how to avoid creative people and galleries being driven out of the heart of the capital.

As long as we want galleries not just to deal with blockbusters but also to promote and support upcoming talent, this means exhibiting artists who are at the moment possibly unknown. This, in turn, means these galleries have to be in places which are central and easily accessible. Otherwise, the advertising expenditure becomes economically unjustifiable. On the one hand, we talk about art as a luxury item; on the other, our political goal is that art should be accessible to the public at large in Germany.

Of course one has to be networked as perfectly as possible – today this can be achieved through social media such as Instagram and Facebook. Neither platform is structured as a sales platform. Well-established gallery owners may well counter by asking why they should use Facebook if their customers aren’t even found there. However, new generations are growing up for whom the use of such networks is absolutely essential.

I can imagine that in future simply looking at art as “reception behavior” will be sufficient for people – after all, we are referring to knowledge about something and no longer learning in a deeper sense:

Learning is available everywhere, whereas education can only be acquired when learning has been assimilated.

There are certain things in a picture which cannot be seen and appreciated because without the necessary education there can be no understanding of the references and allusions.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

A further phenomenon is that ownership is playing an increasingly different role as can be seen in streaming and sharing models. The purchase of art, however, is a question of owning something precious, something unique which belongs only to the owner. Similar to the difference between learning which is available everywhere and personal education, when it comes to artworks it is a question of possessing them, preserving them and presenting them. This is somewhat different to simply looking at them and liking them.

Do you see a merging together of the two terms Gallery Owner and Art Dealer if in the future more and more gallery owners also offer their own online shops?
This difference only exists in Germany. The original task of the gallery owner was to discover at an early stage the unknown artist with his works fresh from his studio, to establish him through his contacts and good exhibitions and from this success to be able to make a living from this. The term art trade refers to the marketing of works of artists who are already established, which is why art dealers in former times did not go to fairs for contemporary art. Yes, I do think that this division will increasingly lose its significance in the future.

Especially in view of the necessary balance between experiencing an artwork, imparting it to others and selling it, there have so far been very few convincing solutions for online sales platforms. From a business point of view it is absolutely clear:

It is an advantage if I am accessible everywhere and offer my product outside of set business hours of analogous shops.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

Would you say that reputable gallery owners have an advantage over newcomers in the area of digitalization or do they have some catching up to do?
If reputable gallery owners have already built up an established and loyal base of collectors and customers, then they can depend on quite different things which newcomers first have to acquire.

Which steps are you taking as a gallery owner in order to face the future?
We are trying to deliberately create situations in which people find enjoyment thinking about the art which we exhibit.

I would like to remove the chilly reserved atmosphere, the sense of distance many people feel in galleries.

For the visitor to an art gallery, it should be about more than just coming to look at art – whereby, of course, the exhibition is the occasion for the visit, but where you can say on arrival that you are pleased to be there and happy with the atmosphere. I am also simply pleased to be surrounded here by so many good galleries, that means with great accessibility to visitors.

Here we are dealing once again with the question of how a city sees its societal role, namely shaping the competition in such a way that creative people remain in the heart of the city. Who does the town or city belong to? To those who live there. What we have here compared with other world metropolises such as London or Paris is precious: living environments in the downtown areas. Nonetheless, in the last few years far too little attention has been paid to preserving it.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

What do you really appreciate about the German gallery and art dealer scene?
The work of German galleries has always been focused on discovering, promoting and supporting artists in their careers.

For an artist, it is a long journey from launching a local career, to a regional, to a German-wide, and ultimately to an international career. Why is it that so many artists live in Germany? Because here in Germany artists develop further through the network of galleries and sponsors and also through social discourse; and they can work on their artistic expressiveness, in order to become visible later.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek · I DECLARE COLORS Blog

What I’m seeing is that insufficient attention is being paid to the large number of people whose personal career is dependent upon looking after artists.

Things are easier in life if we have a normal profession. Gallery owners also take the risk of preparing an exhibition without even knowing exactly what the artist is currently painting. In this context, the comparison with a businessman is schizophrenic, for if I advertise a product, then I must know that I can deliver it, how many items I can deliver and what it is. Sometimes the only thing I know is that a certain artist is sending me something, and sometimes it’s just one picture which I don’t even know whether I can even sell at the end of the day. In this sense, outsiders have many misconceptions relating to the profession of a gallery owner. A large number of German gallery owners and art dealers not only have a great deal of ambition but above all a large measure of idealism.

Interview & Photos: Eva Karl. Written permission is required for the reproduction or publishing of images and the text – even parts thereof.
Translation: Karen Christenson

Thank you, Kristian Jarmuschek! You have an exceptional talent for coherently presenting economic and political relationships in the field of art and analyzing current developments.

Photos were taken during the exhibition “TIMECODE” with its eponymous installation of the Berlin-based artist PETRA LOTTJE.

Get more information about BVDG and Kristian Jarmuschek’s gallery Jarmuschek + Partner in Berlin.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Find me on

Kristian Jarmuschek

Die Galerie der Zukunft

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Er ist selbst erfahrener Galerist und seit 2013 Vorsitzender des Bundesverbands für Galerien und Kunsthändler in Deutschland. In seinen bemerkenswerten Galerieräumen habe ich mit Kristian Jarmuschek über die aktuelle Entwicklung der Kunstmessen, die Standortfrage von Kreativen & Galerien in Städten, die Galerie der Zukunft und vieles mehr gesprochen.

Datum11. September 2017 / Ort Berlin / Fotos 14

Bei der Pressekonferenz mit Daniel Hug waren Sie mit dabei, als er die Aussage von „Kolonialismus“ gegenüber der expansiven Vorgehensweise der MCH-Group/Art Basel brachte. Was halten Sie von dieser Bewertung?
Prinzipiell war diese Vorgehensweise der MCH-Group schon seit Jahren bekannt, nachdem Miami und Hong Kong platziert waren und es ein Statement gab, in Zukunft weiter in Regionalmessen investieren zu wollen. Das Rheinland ist eine Region, die tatsächlich von einer stabilen, traditionsbewussten Sammlerschaft getragen wird. Von daher kann ich es aus deren wirtschaftlichem Interesse verstehen, ihren Kunden und Galerien einen Platz direkt vor Ort zu bieten.

Dass man diese Messe ausgerechnet im Nachbarort platziert, würde ich als Ansage, nicht als Angriff formulieren.

Tatsache ist trotz allem, dass die ART COLOGNE im Frühjahr und die ART DUS im Herbst stattfindet. Daran kann ich jetzt erstmal nichts finden, zumal es die ART.FAIR vorher auch schon gab. Zudem ist die MCH-Group als beteiligter Unterstützer der Messe genannt, womit sie zunächst nicht als „Art Basel Düsseldorf“ gelabelt wird. Wir sehen erstmal, was passiert und wie die Messe im Herbst wird.

Das Kreieren von Events und das Regionalisieren im Kunstmarkt ist allenthalben immer stärker zu sehen. In diesem Kontext ist es sicherlich eine nachvollziehbare Entwicklung, wenn die Stadt Düsseldorf, die einen starken Kunstmarkt hat, eine eigene Messe bekommt. Die Überlegungen, seinem Kundenstamm etwas Neues zu bieten, findet man überall.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Wie schätzen Sie die Auswirkungen der neuen Art Berlin auf die POSITIONS ein, deren Direktor Sie sind?
Mir ist es wichtig, dass es der Kölner Messe um ein langfristiges Engagement geht und sie sich ihrer Verantwortung für den Messestandort Berlin bewusst ist.

Das art forum berlin war ein beliebtes Messeformat.  Aber letztendlich konnte dieses Format den Anforderungen und Interessen der teilnehmenden Galerien nicht entsprechen. Zur Zeit des art forums war die Kunstszene noch von dem geprägt, was die Stadt in den 90er Jahren ausgemacht hat – klingt schon furchtbar lange her, nicht wahr? (lacht).

Man hat sich damals gegenseitig besucht als Zeichen der Aufmerksamkeit. Noch immer ist das in der Kunstszene in Berlin fest verankert, dass man gegenseitig die Vernissagen als festes soziales, gesellschaftliches Event besucht:

Der Kern der Szene in Berlin war es immer zu sehen, zu zeigen und gesehen zu werden, weniger der Kunstmarkt.

Die Frage, welche sich die Art Berlin auch stellen muss, ist: Schafft es die Messe, so viel internationale Aufmerksamkeit (sowohl inhaltlich als auch wirtschaftlich) zu generieren, dass sich ein Messeauftritt für die teilnehmenden Galerien lohnt? Worauf die Kölner sich bei der ART COLOGNE verlassen können, ist das Rheinland und die Beneluxländer als starkes Rückgrat. Dort ist eine Verdichtung von Sammlern sowie das Interesse und ein Traditionsbewusstsein für die Förderung von Kunst über das Kaufen bei Galerien vorzufinden, wie man es in Berlin bisher nicht in der Form hat. Hier wird vieles als selbstverständlich wahrgenommen, was ich als Herausforderung sehen würde.

Für die POSITIONS heißt das erstmal: Toll, dass eine zweite Messe da ist. Sicherlich wird man sich konzeptuell noch darauf verständigen, wo die jeweiligen Schwerpunkte liegen. Im Moment würde ich erstmal sagen, ich bin neugierig darauf und finde es spannend, wenn eine etablierte Messegesellschaft wie die Kölnmesse in den Kunstmarkt-Standort Berlin investieren möchte.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

… ist also als Kompliment für Berlin zu werten (beide lachen)! Sie haben gerade Bezug genommen auf die Entwicklung in den letzten Jahren. Wie haben sich die Themen für Sie als Vorsitzender des BVDG verändert, die täglich bei Ihnen auf dem Tisch liegen?
Ich beobachte zwei Tendenzen: Die eine hat mit der globalen wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung besonders des Finanzmarktes zu tun – kurz angerissen sind da Etappen wie die dotcom-Blase 2000, Lehman Brothers 2008 und die über Europa hinaus reichende Finanzkrise 2012 zu nennen. All diese Geschehnisse haben Auswirkungen auf die mentale und somit auch wirtschaftliche Situation der Kunstkäufer. Das Gefühl, dass das Geld von allein arbeitet, dass man das Geld investiert und im Laufe der Zeit ein Mehrwert entsteht – was ja leider nur ein Fake war, welchen man den Leuten vorgaukelte, denn eigentlich ging es um Kreditrefinanzierung und nicht um reale Investitionen, eng verbunden mit der Immobilienpolitik in den Vereinigten Staaten – schwand.

Auf jeden Fall gab es vor der Krise des Finanzmarktes eine Neugierde auf unentdeckte, junge Künstler. Wenn eine Stadt in den letzten zehn bis zwanzig Jahren für das Entdecken von Künstlern stand, dann war es garantiert Berlin. Man konnte bspw. in Mitte herumlaufen und hoffen: „Ich entdecke vielleicht hier den neuen Shootingstar“. Diese Bereitschaft führte dazu, dass viele Galerien von diesem Interesse lebten, indem sie junge Künstler auf den Markt brachten.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Unterdessen hat die Finanzwelt sich verzockt und es gibt keine Möglichkeit mehr, Geld in herkömmlichen Investitionsprodukten anzulegen. Für Investitionsgelder werden also neue Anlagemöglichkeiten gesucht – mit „Markenkünstlern“ ist eine neue Option gegeben. Das Interesse an den Picassos, Monets, Richters, Koons, Polkes, Hirsts, also den Künstlern, die es in einem allgemeinen Konsens geschafft haben, zu einer Marke zu werden, steigt. Konsens bedeutet in diesem Fall von Galerien und Auktionshäusern getragen – der Wiederverkaufserlös der Kunstwerke dieser Künstler beinhaltet also eine gewisse Werthaltigkeit oder auch Wertsteigerung. Deshalb liegt natürlich im Moment das größte Interesse an Markenkünstlern. Andererseits erscheint es vor diesem Hintergrund riskant, in 15 Absolventen der UdK zu investieren, um darauf zu wetten, dass aus einem dieser vielleicht mal ein großer Name wird. Nein, heute entscheidet man sich in einem gewissen Metier für einen Polke, einen Richter, … Es gibt Künstler, welche mit einer global wahrgenommenen und akzeptierten Werthaltigkeit über den Wiederverkaufsmarkt als wertstabilisierende Anlage Erfolg haben. 

Das hat zur Folge, dass Galerien, welche auf die Förderung von jungen Künstlern setzen, eigentlich in ihrer Arbeitsweise eingeschränkt sind. Rein wirtschaftlich betrachtet ist es deshalb schlau, auf Künstler umzustellen, die schon einen Marktwert haben und zu bestimmten anerkannten künstlerischen Strömungen zählen – als Beispiel: Die Werthaltigkeit einzelner ZERO-Künstler wurde durch deren Zugehörigkeit zur Strömung gesteigert.

Diese Entwicklung ist nachteilig zur Förderung von jungen Künstlern …

… was ich auch merke, wenn zum Teil auf politischer Ebene wie letztes Jahr aggressiv über die Kulturgutschutz-Novelle verhandelt wird – da wird einem unterstellt, man würde im deutschen Kunstmarkt Millionengewinne erzielen, was aber ein politisches Unwissen ist, weil medial oft nur von sensationellen Kunstkäufen in London oder New York berichtet wird. Als missverstandener Analogschluss werden diese Dinge auch auf Deutschland übertragen. Das ist hier aber nicht so, denn in Deutschland wird [tatsächlich] sehr viel Aufbauarbeit in Galerien geleistet, allerdings weniger im Renditebereich. Man kann das ja mal durchrechnen, inwiefern sich ein Verkaufspreis von 1000,– € gegenüber dem Repräsentationsaufwand ausbezahlt macht …

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Dem gegenüber steht ein allgemeines gesellschaftliches Phänomen:

Wir haben immer weniger Zeit.

Obwohl wir eigentlich der Meinung sind, dass wir mit der modernen Vernetzung und Mobilität eigentlich viel mehr Zeit haben müssten, weil wir auch Leerlaufzeiten wie beim Warten auf die U-Bahn aktiv nutzen können. Trotzdem haben wir das Gefühl, dass die Arbeit eher mehr als weniger wird: Der Kommunikationsdruck ist enorm hoch und füllt damit Zeit, die wir für etwas anderes hätten nutzen können.

In einem Symposium des BVDG vor ein paar Wochen im Haus der elektronischen Künste in Basel habe ich die provokante Frage gestellt: „Ist es nicht falsch, wenn ich als Galerist alles dafür tue, den Besuch meiner Galerieräume, den ich fördern möchte, eigentlich überflüssiger zu machen? Wenn ich den Ausstellungsraum virtuell zur Verfügung stelle, tue ich noch mehr dafür, dass Leute den Besuch in der Galerie für überflüssig halten. Damit ist der Kerngedanke der Galerie immer unnötiger, den Künstlern einen Raum offen zu halten, um sich dort zu entfalten und den Raum nach ihren eigenen Ideen mit ihrer Kunst zu gestalten.

Ich kann mir selbst noch immer keine virtuelle Übertragung vorstellen, die das unmittelbare Erleben des Kunstwerks in einer Ausstellung ersetzt.

Und erst dieses unmittelbare Erleben führt zur Begeisterung und letztendlich auch zum nicht spekulativ motivierten Kaufinteresse.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

… also fehlt zum Teil der Mut oder das Budget beim Kunstkauf. Wie können Galerien erfolgreich in die Zukunft starten – besonders im Hinblick auf die genannten Entwicklungen, die Unsicherheit und offene Fragen verbreiten können?
Ich glaube, dass es als Galerie auch in Zukunft wichtig sein wird, gute Ausstellungen zu machen, einen guten Ausstellungsraum zu haben, an Messen teilzunehmen und dies alles auch wirtschaftlich zu stemmen. Wir sind hier im ehemaligen Tagesspiegelgelände in einem wenn man so will toten Winkel der Vorwendezeit an der Potsdamer Straße, in einem Randgebiet mit den zugehörigen Phänomenen. Erst jetzt, 28 Jahre nach der Wende, ist es möglich, hier mitten in Berlin zu sein und trotzdem auch die Kreativen vorzufinden. Die weniger entscheidende Frage ist meiner Meinung nach: Wie sollen Kreative und Galerien zukünftig vorgehen?

Man muss vielmehr politisch darauf achten, dass die Kreativen und Galerien nicht aus der Innenstadt verdrängt werden.

Solange wir von Galerien möchten, dass sie nicht nur auf die Blockbuster setzen, sondern auch den Nachwuchs fördern, dann heißt das auch, Ausstellungen mit Künstlern zu machen, die womöglich noch nicht bekannt sind. Das wiederum bedeutet, dass diese Galerien an Orten sein müssen, die niedrigschwellig zu besuchen sind, sonst ist der Werbeaufwand wirtschaftlich nicht zu vertreten. Einerseits reden wir über Kunst als Luxusgut, andererseits wollen wir politisch, dass Kunst einer breiten Öffentlichkeit in Deutschland zugänglich gemacht wird.

Natürlich muss man auch hervorragend vernetzt sein – dabei helfen heute auch soziale Medien wie Instagram und Facebook. Beide Plattformen sind per se nicht als Verkaufsplattformen konzipiert. Gestandene Galeristen mögen hier entgegnen, wieso sie Facebook nutzen sollten, wenn nicht mal ihre Kunden dort anzutreffen wären. Es wachsen jedoch Generationen heran, für die der Gebrauch dieser Netzwerke absolut selbstverständlich ist.

Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass in Zukunft den Menschen das Sehen von Kunst als Rezeptionsverhalten immer mehr ausreicht – schließlich reden wir hier von Wissen um etwas und nicht mehr von Bildung:

Wissen ist überall verfügbar, während man Bildung nur erlangen kann, wenn man sich Wissen angeeignet hat.

Bestimmte Dinge kann man in einem Bild gar nicht sehen, weil man ohne die nötige Bildung kein Verständnis für die Bezüge und Anspielungen darin hat.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Ein weiteres Phänomen ist, dass Besitz eine zunehmend andere Rolle spielt, wie man ja an Streaming- und Sharing-Modellen sehen kann. Bei dem Kauf von Kunst geht es aber darum, etwas Kostbares, etwas Einzigartiges zu besitzen, das nur dem Käufer alleine gehört. Ähnlich wie beim Unterschied zwischen allseits verfügbarem Wissen und persönlicher Bildung geht es bei Kunstwerken ja darum, diese zu besitzen, zu bewahren und zu präsentieren. Das ist etwas anderes, als sie nur anzusehen und zu liken.

Sehen Sie ein Verschwimmen der beiden Begriffe Galerist und Kunsthändler kommen, wenn zukünftig immer mehr Galeristen auch eigene Onlineshops anbieten?
Diese Unterscheidung besteht nur in Deutschland. Die ursprüngliche Aufgabe des Galeristen war es, den unbekannten Künstler mit seinen atelierfrischen Arbeiten frühzeitig zu entdecken, ihn durch seine Kontakte und guten Ausstellungen zu etablieren und von diesem Erfolg auch wirtschaftlich leben zu können. Kunsthandel bezieht sich auf den Vertrieb von Werken bereits etablierter Künstler, weshalb Kunsthändler früher auch nicht auf Messen für zeitgenössische Kunst gingen. Ich denke schon, dass diese Trennung in Zukunft immer mehr verblasst.

Gerade angesichts einer notwendigen Balance zwischen Erleben, Vermittlung und Verkauf gibt es  bisher wenig überzeugende Lösungen für Online-Verkaufsplattformen. Unternehmerisch ist völlig klar:

Wenn ich überall verfügbar bin und mein Produkt auch außerhalb der Geschäftszeiten von analogen Shops anbiete, ist das ein Vorteil.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Würden Sie sagen, dass renommierte Galeristen im Bereich der Digitalisierung gegenüber Newcomern Vorteile oder eher aufzuholen haben?
Wenn renommierte Galeristen eine etablierte und treue Sammlerschaft und Kundschaft aufgebaut haben, dann können sie sich auf ganz andere Dinge verlassen, die Newcomer erstmal anwerben müssen.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Welche Schritte gehen Sie als Galerist, um in Richtung Zukunft zu gehen?
Wir versuchen, gezielt Situationen zu schaffen, in denen Menschen Lust bekommen, sich mit der Kunst, die wir zeigen, auseinanderzusetzen.

Ich möchte das Unterkühlte, Distanzierte aufbrechen, was viele in Galerieräumen empfinden.

Für die Besucher der Galerie soll es mehr sein als nur Kunst anzusehen – wobei die Ausstellung natürlich der Anlass des Treffens ist, aber wo man vor Ort auch sagen kann, dass man einfach gerne dort ist und die Atmosphäre genießt. Ich freue mich auch, hier von vielen guten Galerien umgeben zu sein, das heißt niedrigschwellig für Besucher zu bleiben.

Da sind wir wieder bei der Frage zur gesellschaftlichen Konzeption einer Stadt, nämlich den Wettbewerb so zu gestalten, dass Kreative nicht aus der Innenstadt verschwinden. Wem gehört eine Stadt? Denen, die dort leben. Das, was wir hier im Vergleich zu anderen Weltmetropolen wie London oder Paris noch haben, ist kostbar: Lebensraum in den Innenstädten. Trotzdem wurde auf dessen Erhaltung in den vergangenen Jahren hier viel zu wenig geachtet.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Was schätzen Sie an der deutschen Galerien- und Kunsthändlerlandschaft?
Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeit deutscher Galerien und Kunsthändler lag immer auf dem Entdecken,  Fördern und Begleiten der Künstler in ihrer Karriere.

Es braucht den langen Weg, als Künstler von einer lokalen zu einer regionalen zu einer deutschlandweiten bis hin zu einer internationalen Karriere zu starten. Warum leben so viele Künstler aus Deutschland? Weil sich hier in Deutschland Künstler durch das Netzwerk von Galerien und Förderern und auch den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs entwickeln und an ihrer künstlerischen Ausdruckskraft arbeiten können, um dann später sichtbar zu werden.

Interview mit Kristian Jarmuschek, BVDG-Vorsitzender & Galerist in Berlin · I DECLARE COLORS Blog für zeitgenössische Kunst · Eva Karl · ideclarecolors.com

Ich beobachte, dass es nicht genug gesehen wird, wie viele Menschen sich mit ihrer persönlichen Karriere davon abhängig machen, sich um Künstler zu kümmern.

Es geht im Leben mit einem normalen Ausbildungsberuf auch leichter. Die Galeristen stellen sich diesem Risiko, indem sie manchmal nicht genau wissen, was der Künstler gerade malt und sie bereiten trotzdem eine Ausstellung vor. Der Vergleich als Unternehmer ist in diesem Zusammenhang schizophren, denn wenn ich für ein Produkt Werbung mache, dann doch nur, wenn ich weiß, dass ich liefern kann, wie viel ich liefern kann und was. Manchmal weiß ich nur, dass mir ein bestimmter Künstler etwas sendet und manchmal auch nur ein Bild, für das ich dann noch nicht mal weiß, ob ich es letztendlich auch verkaufen kann. Insofern herrschen nach außen viele Missverständnisse im Zusammenhang mit dem Beruf des Galeristen. Ein Großteil der deutschen Galeristen und Kunsthändler haben nicht nur viel Ehrgeiz, sondern vor allem auch ein großes Maß an Idealismus.

Interview & Fotos: Eva Karl. Vervielfältigung oder Veröffentlichung der Bilder und des Textes – auch in Teilen – nur nach schriftlicher Absprache erlaubt.

Vielen Dank, Kristian Jarmuschek! Ihre Gabe, wirtschaftliche und politische Zusammenhänge im Bereich der Kunst schlüssig darzustellen und aktuelle Entwicklungen entsprechend einzuordnen, empfinde ich als herausragend. 

Die Fotos sind in der Ausstellung „TIMECODE“ mit der gleichnamigen Installation der Berliner Künstlerin PETRA LOTTJE entstanden.

Hol dir hier mehr Informationen zum BVDG und zu Kristian Jarmuscheks Galerie Jarmuschek + Partner in Berlin.

2 Kommentare

admin
November 05, 2017
Gerne können Sie den Artikel teilen, Frau Dr. Hauffe! Ich freue mich über eine Verlinkung von @ideclarecolors. Sonnige Grüße, Eva
Dr. Friederike Hauffe
Oktober 16, 2017
Diesen Artikel würde ich gerne auf facebook teilen. Es würde mich freuen, wenn Sie mir dazu die Genehmigung erteilen. Mit freundlichem Gruß Friederike Hauffe

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Folge mir auf